Physiology & Biophysics

Faculty



•    The Department of Physiology and Biophysics enlists more than 18 primary and 35 secondary faculty committed to academic and scientific excellence.  Our goal is to train the next generation of world leaders in the field of biomedical science.

•    We employ a highly innovative research approach, teaching, and individual mentoring of graduate students; this maximizes faculty-student interaction and emphasizes the use of state-of-the-art experimental approaches.

•    We encourage interactive and collegial sharing of ideas and techniques; in this way our faculty members provide opportunities for integrated research approaches in biomedical research.

•    Our faculty members are committed to expert, ground-breaking, and interactive teaching.  The effectiveness of this is emphasized by a vibrant PhD program, a newly developed Master in Medical Physiology program, and an invaluable contribution to the School of Medicine's redesigned curriculum.
 

Primary Faculty

Walter F. Boron, MD, PhD
Myers/Scarpa Professor and Chair
walter.boron@case.edu
Boron Lab
Regulation of intracellular pH, gas channels


Jessica M. Berthiaume, PhD
Adjunct Instructor
jessica.berthiaume@case.edu
Regulation of metabolism in the normal and diseased heart


Matthias Buck, MA, DPhil
Professor
matthias.buck@case.edu
Buck Lab
Protein-Protein Interactions in Cell Signaling of small GTPases, Plexin and Eph receptors


Sudha Chakrapani, PhD
Associate Professor
sudha.chakrapani@case.edu
Chakrapani Lab
Understanding the role of structure and dynamics in the functioning of ion channels


Michael J. Decker, PhD
Associate Professor
michael.decker@case.edu


George R. Dubyak, PhD
Professor
george.dubyak@case.edu
Dubyak Lab
Signal transduction by extracellular nucleotides and inflammasomes in innate immunity and inflammation


Jeffrey L. Garvin, PhD
Professor
jeffrey.garvin@case.edu
Garvin Lab
Regulation of nephron transport, salt-sensitive hypertension and cross-talk between tubules and vessels


Stephen W. Jones, PhD
Professor
stephen.w.jones@case.edu
Jones Lab
Voltage-dependent ion channels


Joseph C. LaManna, PhD
Silber Professor
joseph.lamanna@case.edu
LaManna Lab
Cerebral angiogenesis, blood flow & metabolism


Fraser J. Moss, PhD
Instructor
fraser.moss@case.edu
Boron Lab
Molecular mechanisms sensing and regulating physiological pH


Tingwei Mu, PhD
Assistant Professor
tingwei.mu@case.edu
Mu Lab
Proteostasis maintenance of membrane proteins in health and disease


Rossana Occhipinti, PhD
Instructor
rossana.occhipinti@case.edu
Boron Lab
Mathematical modeling of acid-base physiology


Xin Qi, PhD
Associate Professor
xin.qi2@case.edu
Qi Lab
Mitochondrial quality control in neurodegenerative diseases  


Rajesh Ramachandran, PhD
Associate Professor
rajesh.ramachandran@case.edu
Ramachandran Lab
Molecular mechanisms of membrane remodeling, fission and fusion in endocytosis and mitochondrial dynamics


Andrea Romani, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
andrea.romani@case.edu
Romani Lab
Regulation of magnesium homeostasis and transport in mammalian cells


William P. Schilling, PhD
Professor
wps@case.edu
Schilling Lab
Structure, function, and regulation of mammalian TRPC channels, mechanisms of Ca2+ dyshomeostasis during oxidative stress


Corey Smith, PhD
Professor
corey.smith@case.edu
Smith Lab
Regulation of the sympatho-adrenal stress response.


Julian E. Stelzer, PhD
Associate Professor
julian.stelzer@case.edu
Stelzer Lab
Cellular and molecular mechanisms of cardiac muscle contraction in health and disease


Witold K. Surewicz, PhD
Robert F Bennett MD Professor
witold.surewicz@case.edu
Surewicz Lab
Molecular basis of prion diseases and other neurodegenerative disorders associated with protein misfolding


Kui Xu, MD, PhD
Instructor
kui.xu@case.edu
LaManna Lab
Brain hypoxia and ischemia


Emeritus Faculty

Ulrich Hopfer, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
ulrich.hopfer@case.edu
Hopfer Lab
Bioinformatics; Structure/Regulation of Membrane and Epithelial Electrolyte Transport


Carole M. Liedtke
Professor Emeritus
carole.liedtke@case.edu
Liedtke Lab
Regulation of epithelial ion transporters in health and disease


Thomas M. Nosek, PhD
Professor Emeritus
thomas.nosek@case.edu
Nosek Lab
Cellular basis of muscle fatigue


Secondary Faculty

Cathleen R. Carlin, PhD
Professor
Molecular Biology and Microbiology
cathleen.carlin@case.edu


Calvin U. Cotton, PhD
Associate Professor
Pediatrics
calvin.cotton@case.edu


Isabelle Deschenes, PhD
Professor
Cardiology
isabelle.deschenes@case.edu


Anthony F. DiMarco, MD
Professor
Respiratory Therapy
anthony.dimarco@case.edu


Mark E. Dunlap, MD
Professor
Cardiology
mark.dunlap@case.edu


Dominique Durand, PhD
Professor
Biomedical Engineering
dominique.durand@case.edu


Benjamin Gaston, MD
Professor
Pediatrics
benjamin.gaston@case.edu


Brian D. Hoit, MD
Professor
Cardiology
brian.hoit@case.edu


Faramarz Ismail-Beigi, MD, PhD
Professor
Endocrinology
faramarz.ismail-beigi@case.edu


Mukesh K. Jain, MD
Professor
Cardiology
mukesh.jain2@case.edu


Peter MacFarlane, PhD
Assistant Professor
Pediatrics / Division of Neonatology
peter.macfarlane@case.edu


Richard J. Martin, MD
Professor
Pediatrics
richard.martin1@case.edu


Sam Mesiano, PhD
Professor
Reproductive Biology
sam.mesiano@case.edu
Human birth timing and steroid hormone action in pregnancy and parturition


John R. Sedor, MD
Professor
Nephrology
john.sedor@case.edu


Daniel I. Simon, MD
Professor
Cardiovascular Medicine
daniel.simon@case.edu


Kingman P. Strohl, MD
Professor
Pulmonary
kingman.strohl@case.edu


Benjamin W. Strowbridge
Professor
Neurosciences
ben.strowbridge@case.edu


Carol Toris, PhD
Professor
Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
carol.toris@case.edu
Glaucoma and aqueous humor physiology


Bing-Cheng Wang, PhD
Professor
Physiology & Biophysics
bingcheng.wang@case.edu


M. Michael Wolfe, MD
Professor
Gastroenterology
michael.wolfe2@case.edu


Sichun Yang, PhD
Associate Professor
Nutrition
sichun.yang@case.edu


Xin Yu, ScD
Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
xin.yu@case.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Christopher P. Ford, PhD
Associate Professor
christopher.ford@ucdenver.edu

Website: https://www.ford-lab.org/
Regulation of Synaptic Transmission Through G-Protein Coupled Receptors


Damir Janigro
Professor
djanigro@flocel.com


John P. Kirwan, PhD
Professor
john.kirwan@pbrc.edu


Vera Moiseenkova-Bell, PhD
Associate Professor
vmb@pennmedicine.upenn.edu


Michelle Puchowicz, PhD
Associate Professor
mpuchowi@uthsc.edu