CWRU Links
  • FrontPage_Kidney_2a

    Hsp90 localization in renal epithelia

  • FrontPage_Cardio_1a

    Localization of myosin binding protein-C (MyBPC) in the cardiac sarcomere

  • FrontPage_Neuro_3a

    Digital reconstruction of axonal pathways

  • FrontPage_MSMP

    Join our program and get your Masters of Science in Medical Physiology

  • FrontPage_PhD

    Join Our PhD Program and do Groundbreaking Research

  • FrontPage_Kidney_2b

    Na+-K+ ATPase in the basolateral membranes of mouse proximal tubules

  • FrontPage_Neuro_3b

    Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) in nerves after moderate hypoxia

  • FrontPage_Cardio_1b

    Functional analysis of the perfused rat heart

Educational Programs: MS in Medical Physiology & PhD
  • Patrick Osei-Owusu, PhD, FAHA

    Patrick Osei-Owusu, PhD, FAHA

  • Lisa Damato, PhD

    Lisa Damato, PhD

  • Jeffrey L. Garvin, PhD

    Jeffrey L. Garvin, PhD

  • Xin Qi, PhD

    Xin Qi, PhD

  • Shiwei Zhu

    Shiwei Zhu

  • Jessica C. Taylor, PhD

    Jessica C. Taylor, PhD

  • Michael J. Decker, PhD

    Michael J. Decker, PhD

  • Tingwei Mu, PhD

    Tingwei Mu, PhD

  • Andrea Romani, MD, PhD

    Andrea Romani, MD, PhD

  • Corey Smith, PhD

    Corey Smith, PhD

  • Rajesh Ramachandran, PhD

    Rajesh Ramachandran, PhD

  • Erika N Allen, PhD

    Erika N Allen, PhD

  • Jeffrey R. Schelling, MD

    Jeffrey R. Schelling, MD

  • George R. Dubyak, PhD

    George R. Dubyak, PhD

  • Kui Xu, MD, PhD

    Kui Xu, MD, PhD

  • Rossana Occhipinti, PhD

    Rossana Occhipinti, PhD

  • Sudha Chakrapani, PhD

    Sudha Chakrapani, PhD

  • Agustin Gonzalez-Vicente, PhD

    Agustin Gonzalez-Vicente, PhD

  • Nami Tajima

    Nami Tajima

  • Fraser J. Moss, PhD

    Fraser J. Moss, PhD

  • Walter F. Boron, MD, PhD

    Walter F. Boron, MD, PhD

  • Matthias Buck

    Matthias Buck

  • Julian E. Stelzer, PhD

    Julian E. Stelzer, PhD

  • Xinghong Dai, PhD

    Xinghong Dai, PhD

  • Witold K. Surewicz, PhD

    Witold K. Surewicz, PhD

Certificate in Aerospace Physiology
Research Mission
Our research mission benefits from a rare combination of faculty who address important translational problems in physiology and biophysics across a broad spectrum of integration—from the level of the atomic structure of molecules, through living cells and organ systems, and up to the whole organism. The major programmatic foci of our research are cardiovascular, renal, and neuronal function in health and disease. Learn more about our Research Laboratories.
Educational Mission
Our educational mission is to provide rigorous training with renown faculty in the environment of Cleveland's world-class healthcare hub. The Physiology and Biophysics Department offers three training programs: Research for the PhD in Physiology and Biophysics  prepares trainees to study the function and diseases of the brain, heart, and kidneys. The Master of Science in Medical Physiology  enhances the student’s competitiveness for medical school, dental school, and other professional clinical programs. The Certificate in Aerospace Physiology prepares trainees to optimize the performance of astronauts and pilots of high-performance jets, and to advance in careers with NASA, civilian space and aviation communities. 
Events / Deadlines
Upcoming Talks
Erik Frijters, MD, MSc, DAvMed
Center for Man in Aviation - Royal Netherlands Air Force
Erik Frijters, MD, MSc, DAvMed
June 2, 2023
2 p.m.

Biomedical Research Building BRB105