CWRU Links


Post-Bacc Application Deadline
Aug. 1, 2022

August 1, 2022 is the deadline for submitting applications for the MS in Medical Physiology Program (Post-Bacc Program).  The admissions committee will review your application once it is complete and all application materials are received.  If you have any questions, please contact the program at Contact us if you need assistance.

Read More >

Medical physiology student Koyal Ansingkar teams up with physiology professor Michael Decker to pen award-winning proposal.
April 18, 2022

Koyal Ansingkar, medical physiology student at Case Western Reserve University, collaborated with physiology and biophysics professor Michael Decker to write an award-winning grant proposal on airman systems. 

Ansingkar and Decker’s proposal, “Establishing Mechanisms through which Systemic Inflammatory Processes Negatively Impact Brain Structure, Function, and Ultimately, Aircrew Readiness,” was awarded the Air Force Research Laboratory/Defense Associated Graduate Innovators Student-Faculty Fellowship by the Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education in March. The fellowship is a one-year grant totaling $45,000.  

Ansingkar is pursuing her Master of Science in Medical Physiology. Learn more about the program.

Learn more about the SOCHE awards.

Read More >

Medical Physiology Graduation Reception
May 14, 2022 2 p.m. - 3 p.m.

The Medical Physiology Graduation Reception will be held Saturday, May 14, 2022, at 2:00 PM.

There will be a brief acknowledgement of the graduates as well as a toast in the SOM E-501 lecture hall, followed by a reception outside the Biomedical Research Building (BRB) lobby.

All graduates from recent years are welcome to attend.

Please RSVP.

Congratulations to all of our Graduates!

Read More >

Recent News

Dr. Matthias Kretzler gives the 9th Ulrich Hopfer Lecture
March 7, 2022 4 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Matthias Kretzler, M.D., the Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor of Medicine/Nephrology and a Professor of Computational Medicine amd Bioinformatics at the University of Michigan Medical School, gave the ninth Department of Physiology and Biophysics Ulrich Hopfer Lecture on Monday, March 7, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. in SOM E-501.

Dr. Kretzler's lecture was entitled, "Defining Nephron Function and Failure across continents and disciplines".

Walter Boron, M.D., Ph.D., Distinguished University Professor and the Myer/Scarpa Professor and Chair of the Department of Physiology and Biophysics gave opening remarks and Dr. Kretzler was introduced by John Sedor, M.D., the Ray W. Gifford, M.D. Endowed Chair in Kidney Research, a Professor of Molecular Medicine at the Lerner College of Medicine (CWRU/CCF), and Staff at the Department of Nephrology and Hypertension at the Lerner Research Institute of the Cleveland Clinic Foundation.

A reception for Dr. Kretzler was held prior to the lecture in the Department's 5th floor lobby.

The Department of Physiology and Biophysics hosts the Hopfer lecture during each spring semester to honor Professor Emeritus Ulrich Hopfer, M.D., Ph.D. It is resuming the lecture after a one year hiatus in 2021 due to the pandemic.

Read More >

Congratulations to the Lab of Dr. Xin Qi
Feb. 11, 2022

Members of the lab of Dr. Xin Qi have had the paper "ATAD3A oligomerization promotes neuropathology and cognitive deficits in Alzheimer's disease models" accepted for publication by Nature Communications

Yuanyuan Zhao#, Di Hu#, Rihua Wang#, Xiaoyan Sun, Philip Ropelewski, Zita Hubler, Kathleen Lundberg, Quanqiu Wang, Drew J. Adams, Rong Xu, and Xin Qi

#co-first author

Read More >

Congratulations to Dr. Nitish Rana
Jan. 27, 2022 1 p.m.

Nitish Rana, a doctoral student mentored by and in the lab of Theresa Pizarro, Ph.D., publicly defended his doctoral dissertation on Thursday, January 27, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. in SOM E-501.

The title of Dr. Rana's dissertation is "Non-pyroptotic Gasdermin B (GSDMB) Regulates Epithelial Restitution and Repair, and is Increased in IBD."

The members of his doctoral committee were Dr. Pizzaro, George Dubyak,, Ph.D., Sudha Chakrapani, Ph.D., and Fabio Cominelli, M.D., Ph.D., of the Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, and Andrei Ivanov, Ph.D. of the Lerner Research Institute of the Cleveland Clinic Foundation.

We wish Dr. Rana well in his future career!

Read More >

Show Archived News