Physiology & Biophysics

Faculty



•    The Department of Physiology and Biophysics enlists more than 18 primary and 35 secondary faculty committed to academic and scientific excellence.  Our goal is to train the next generation of world leaders in the field of biomedical science.

•    We employ a highly innovative research approach, teaching, and individual mentoring of graduate students; this maximizes faculty-student interaction and emphasizes the use of state-of-the-art experimental approaches.

•    We encourage interactive and collegial sharing of ideas and techniques; in this way our faculty members provide opportunities for integrated research approaches in biomedical research.

•    Our faculty members are committed to expert, ground-breaking, and interactive teaching.  The effectiveness of this is emphasized by a vibrant PhD program, a newly developed Master in Medical Physiology program, and an invaluable contribution to the School of Medicine's redesigned curriculum.
 


Primary Faculty


Walter F. Boron, MD, PhD
Myers/Scarpa Professor and Chair
walter.boron@case.edu
Boron Lab
Regulation of intracellular pH, gas channels


Matthias Buck, MA, DPhil
Associate Professor
matthias.buck@case.edu
Buck Lab
Protein-Protein Interactions in Cell Signaling of small GTPases, Plexin and Eph receptors


Sudha Chakrapani, PhD
Assistant Professor
sudha.chakrapani@case.edu
Chakrapani Lab
Understanding the role of structure and dynamics in the functioning of ion channels


George R. Dubyak, PhD
Professor
george.dubyak@case.edu
Dubyak Lab
Signal transduction by extracellular nucleotides in inflammation and immunity


Christopher P. Ford, PhD
Assistant Professor
christopher.ford@case.edu
Ford Lab
Regulation of Dopamine Synaptic Transmission


Jeffrey L. Garvin, PhD
Professor
jeffrey.garvin@case.edu
Garvin Lab
Regulation of nephron transport, salt-sensitive hypertension and cross-talk between tubules and vessels


Stephen W. Jones, PhD
Professor
stephen.w.jones@case.edu
Jones Lab
Voltage-dependent ion channels


Joseph C. LaManna, PhD
Professor
joseph.lamanna@case.edu
LaManna Lab
Cerebral angiogenesis, blood flow & metabolism


Tingwei Mu, PhD
Assistant Professor
tingwei.mu@case.edu
Mu Lab
Understanding ion channel proteostasis


Thomas M. Nosek, PhD
Professor
thomas.nosek@case.edu
Nosek Lab
Cellular basis of muscle fatigue


Xin Qi, PhD
Assistant Professor
xin.qi2@case.edu
Qi Lab
Mitochondrial dysfunction in disease


Rajesh Ramachandran, PhD
Assistant Professor
rajesh.ramachandran@case.edu
Ramachandran Lab
Molecular mechanisms of membrane remodeling, fission and fusion in endocytosis and mitochondrial dynamics


Tomasz Religa, PhD
Assistant Professor
tomasz.religa@case.edu
Religa Lab
Mechanisms of chaperone-assisted protein folding


Andrea Romani, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
andrea.romani@case.edu
Romani Lab
Regulation of magnesium homeostasis and transport in mammalian cells


William P. Schilling, PhD
Professor
wschilling@metrohealth.org
Schilling Lab
Structure, function, and regulation of mammalian TRPC channels Mechanisms of Ca2+ dyshomeostasis during oxidative stress


Corey Smith, PhD
Associate Professor
corey.smith@case.edu
Smith Lab
Regulation of the sympatho-adrenal stress response.


Julian E. Stelzer, PhD
Assistant Professor
julian.stelzer@case.edu
Stelzer Lab
Cellular and molecular mechanisms of cardiac muscle contraction in health and disease


Witold K. Surewicz, PhD
Professor
witold.surewicz@case.edu
Surewicz Lab
Molecular basis of prion diseases and other disorders of protein misfolding



Secondary Faculty


Mary D. Barkley, PhD
Professor
mary.barkley@case.edu


Venkaiah Betapudi, PhD
Assistant Professor
venkaiah.betapudi@case.edu
Ubiquitination in driving cell migration


Cathleen R. Carlin, PhD
Professor
cathleen.carlin@case.edu


Calvin U. Cotton, PhD
Associate Professor
calvin.cotton@case.edu


Isabelle Deschenes, PhD
Associate Professor
isabelle.deschenes@case.edu


Paul E. DiCorleto, PhD
Professor
paul.dicorleto@case.edu


Anthony F. DiMarco, MD
Professor
anthony.dimarco@case.edu


Mark E. Dunlap, MD
Professor
mark.dunlap@case.edu


Dominique Durand, PhD
Professor
dominique.durand@case.edu


Thomas Egelhoff, PhD
Professor
thomas.egelhoff@case.edu


Anne Hamik, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor
anne.hamik@case.edu


Brian D. Hoit, MD
Professor
brian.hoit@case.edu


Arie Horowitz, DSc
Assistant Professor
arie.horowitz@case.edu
The regulation of endothelial cell dynamics in sprouting vessels; the role of membrane trafficking in the intracellular signaling of endothelial cells.


Faramarz Ismail-Beigi, MD, PhD
Professor
faramarz.ismail-beigi@case.edu


Mukesh K. Jain, MD
Professor
mukesh.jain2@case.edu


Prabha KC, PhD
Assistant Professor
prabha.kc@case.edu


John P. Kirwan, PhD
Professor
john.kirwan@case.edu


Carole M. Liedtke
Professor
carole.liedtke@case.edu
Liedtke Lab
Regulation of epithelial ion transporters in health and disease


Peter MacFarlane, PhD
Assistant Professor
peter.macfarlane@case.edu


Richard J. Martin, MD
Professor
richard.martin1@case.edu


Sam Mesiano, PhD
Associate Professor
sam.mesiano@case.edu
Human birth timing and steroid hormone action in pregnancy and parturition


Robert H. Miller, PhD
Professor
robert.miller@case.edu


Saurav Misra, PhD
Assistant Professor
saurav.misra@case.edu


Vera Moiseenkova-Bell, PhD
Assistant Professor
vera.moiseenkova-bell@case.edu
Molecular mechanisms and structural basis of pain sensation


John R. Sedor, MD
Professor
john.sedor@case.edu


Daniel I. Simon, MD
Professor
daniel.simon@case.edu


Kingman P. Strohl, MD
Professor
kingman.strohl@case.edu


Benjamin W. Strowbridge
Professor
ben.strowbridge@case.edu


Richard A. Walsh, MD
Professor
richard.walsh@case.edu


Bing-Cheng Wang, PhD
Professor
bingcheng.wang@case.edu


M. Michael Wolfe, MD
Professor
michael.wolfe2@case.edu


Sichun Yang, PhD
Assistant Professor
sichun.yang@case.edu


Xin Yu, ScD
Associate Professor
xin.yu@case.edu



Emeritus Faculty


Ulrich Hopfer, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
ulrich.hopfer@case.edu
Hopfer Lab
Structure/Regulation of Membrane and Epithelial Electrolyte Transport